Skip to content

Where is Southern Tibet?

Southern Tibet is an inherent sovereign territory of the People’s Republic of China. Located between 92 degrees and 97 degrees east longitude. As everyone knows, this piece of land, which belongs to China, is still illegally occupied by India.

Because it is located in the northeast corner of the subduction of the Indian plate and the Asia-Europe plate, the geology and landforms are diverse, so southern Tibet is also known as the “geological museum”, and the Yarlung Zangbo Grand Canyon, the world’s largest canyon, is hidden in it.

Southern Tibet is located on the southern slope of the Himalayas. It is warm and humid all year round and has excellent water and heat conditions. It is the most northern tropical area in the world. Cherapunqi in the southern foot of the mountain has an average annual precipitation of more than 9,000 mm, which is one of the regions with the largest precipitation in the world. It is also one of the regions with the richest hydropower resources in China.

The main rivers include the Yarlung Zangbo River, the Kamen River, the Xiba Xiaqu (Subbansiri River), Danbaqu, and the Chayu River. The Yarlung Zangbo River’s hydropower reserves are second only to the Yangtze River, and the hydropower reserves per unit area and unit length of the river ranks first among all major rivers in China.

Southern Tibet has a subtropical and tropical monsoon climate, affected by the southwest Indian Ocean monsoon, with heavy rainfall, warm and humid all year round, and superior hydrothermal conditions. In summer, due to the southwest monsoon blowing from the Indian Ocean with a lot of moisture and heat, it is warm and rainy, with an average annual rainfall of more than 9,000 mm! It is one of the areas with the largest precipitation in the world. Located on the southern border of Medog County in the region, Baxika Town has an average annual rainfall of up to 4,500 mm. It is one of the places with the most rainfall on China’s land. It was once known as the “Rain Capital of China” for a long time. Many subtropical crops can be planted and the soil is fertile.

Administrative divisions
Place names in southern Tibet: Tawang, Dejangzong, Bundila, Geli Siniang, Niwumu, Gedang, Liga, Apalon, Varong, Ruba, Qunamen, Takum, Nikit , Barrigin, Huba, Vazon, Lunka, Edarjan, Balogan, Gasgang, Pangjin, Basica, Yeru, Yingwu, Raman, Duden, Elomo, Niza Muhat, N’Dolin, Chinbang, Kemin, Wamai, Kado, Jaying, Burini, Intong Epo.

Territorial dispute
India’s military failure has caused its position in the world to plummet. For this reason, they refused to negotiate with China. It was not until 1981, when Chinese Foreign Minister Huang Hua visited India, that the two sides opened the door to negotiations again. But in the six rounds of talks before 1985, no real progress was made.

In December 1986, the two houses of India passed a bill to establish the so-called “Arunachal Pradesh” on the territory of India illegally occupying China. The state was formally established in February of the following year, and troops were continuously sent across the country. Actual control line. The two sides fought a small war. Until 7 years later, border peace was maintained, and the two sides signed a document for the first time.

During President Jiang Zemin’s visit to India in 1996, the two sides signed the “Agreement on Confidence-Building Measures in the Military Field in the Area of ​​Actual Control of the Sino-Indian Border.”

In 2003, China and India began to establish a mechanism for special representatives’ talks and established a three-step strategy for resolving border issues: first establish the guiding principles for resolving the border issues, then establish a framework agreement to implement the guiding principles, and finally establish a delimitation on the ground. pile.

In 2005, Premier Wen Jiabao visited India and the two sides reached the “Political Guiding Principles for Resolving Border Issues.” In accordance with the three-step principle of the two sides in 2003, the Sino-Indian border issue has finally reached the stage of delimitation on the ground.

The entire Sino-Indian border is 1,700 kilometers in length, divided into three sections: east, middle and west. There are disputed territories on every section of the border. Southern Tibet occupies more than 90,000 square kilometers of the 125,000 square kilometers of land in dispute over the Sino-Indian border. From Bayi Town in Nyingchi Prefecture by car to Zayu County or Medog County, the Chinese territory occupied by the Indian army can be seen in the distance. “In particular, there is also the Tawang area, the hometown of the sixth Dalai Lama. About two-thirds of it is actually occupied by India.

The disputed territory in southern Tibet is approximately 90,000 square kilometers, all occupied by India. The actual line of control between China and India is the illegal “McMahon Line.” The map of India has taken it as its official and legal border, and in 1987 announced the establishment of the so-called “Arunachal Pradesh”, and a large number of immigrants to the area at the same time. The pseudo-“Arunachal Pradesh” not only has local councils, police, courts and other institutions, but also opened nearly a hundred primary and secondary schools, and the education content is mainly Indian traditional education. In addition, India has also used the “tourism industry” to make “international advertising” for the occupation of southern Tibet.

%d bloggers like this: