Skip to content

Which country is Denmark?

The Kingdom of Denmark (Danish: Kongeriget Danmark, formerly translated as “lián (lián) country”, “嗹马”), referred to as Denmark, one of the five Nordic countries, is a constitutional monarchy with two autonomous territories, the Faroe Islands and Greenland. It faces Sweden and Norway across the North Sea and the Baltic Sea in the north and is collectively known as the Scandinavian country. It borders Germany in the south, and the capital and largest city is Copenhagen.

The united kingdom was formed in about 985 AD, and the Viking era entered the heyday of Vikings in the 8th and 11th centuries. It became one of the European powers in the 14th century. In June 1397, under the leadership of Queen Margaret I, it formed the Kalmar Union with Sweden and Norway and became the leader of the Union. The first national flag in the world was the Danish flag born in 1219, known as “the power of the Danes.”

Denmark is a highly developed capitalist country. It is also a founding country of NATO and a member of the European Union. The country has an extremely complete social welfare system, a highly developed economy, a very small gap between the rich and the poor, and the people enjoy an extremely high quality of life. In February 2019, the 2018 Global Happiness Index was released, and Denmark ranked third.

Population nation

5.628 million people (2013), Danes account for about 95%, and foreign immigrants account for about 5%. The official language is Danish. 86.6% of residents believe in Christian Lutheranism, and 0.6% of residents believe in Roman Catholicism.

Greenland has a population of 52,940 (1985), mainly Greenlanders. The Faroe Islands has a population of 45,000 (1985) and is a Faroese.

Natural environment

Regional location

The Kingdom of Denmark is located on the Jutland Peninsula at the northwestern tip of the European continent. It borders on the Baltic Sea to the east and Russia across the sea, the North Sea to the west, the Skagerrak Strait, the Kattegat Strait and the Øresund Strait to the north, and Norway and Sweden across the sea, and Germany to the south.

The mainland consists of 406 large and small islands such as Jutland, Funen, Zealand and Bornholm, covering an area of ​​43096 square kilometers. In addition, Greenland (with an area of ​​2.175 million square kilometers), which has officially become its territory since 1953, and the Autonomous Faroe Islands (with an area of ​​1,399 square kilometers, composed of 21 islands). The coastline is 7314 kilometers long.


The terrain is low and flat, with an average elevation of about 30 meters. The western part of Jutland Peninsula is an undulating plain of icy water. There are wide sandy beaches along the coast of the North Sea, and bushes grow on the dunes. The sea breeze here is charming, and it is a tourist resort. The eastern and central parts of Jutland Peninsula are one of the most typical areas in Europe for studying ice age sedimentary topography.

The vast hills run almost across the entire peninsula, with bays and valleys crossing the eastern coast. Some valleys are wide and long, and the two walls are very dangerous. The bottom of the valley is filled with meandering rivers. The east coast is not directly impacted by strong winds and waves, and is well protected. Therefore, many deep bays and excellent ports have been formed, such as Aalborg, Philip, and Aarhus. The central part of the peninsula is full of swamps, lakes and raised hills.

Climate characteristics

Denmark has a temperate maritime climate. The average temperature is -2.4℃ in January and 14.6℃ in August. The average annual precipitation is about 860 mm. Denmark is not as cold as people think, and the climate in most areas is similar to ours. Denmark’s climate is between Northern and Central Europe, and it has a temperate maritime climate. Due to the influence of the southwest wind from the Atlantic Ocean, the Danish climate is warm in winter and cool in summer. The hottest July average temperature is only 15 to 17 degrees.

Natural resources

Natural resources are relatively scarce. Except for oil and natural gas, there are few other mineral deposits. All the coal, iron and other minerals needed are imported. Denmark’s oil reserves on the North Sea continental shelf are estimated to be 290 million tons, and natural gas reserves are about 200 billion cubic meters. Petroleum began to be exploited in 1972, and it produced 12.32 million tons of oil in 2010, making it the third largest oil exporter in Europe.

The natural gas is 8.09 billion cubic meters, and the proven lignite reserves are 90 million cubic meters. The forest covers an area of ​​486,000 hectares, with a coverage rate of about 10%. The North Sea and the Baltic Sea are important offshore fishing grounds.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: