Skip to content

Americas and the Caribbean Continents

The Americas consists of two continents, North America and South America. Central America and the Caribbean are considered part of North America.

The double continent is situated entirely in the Western Hemisphere bounded by the Pacific Ocean in the west, the Atlantic Ocean in the east, the Arctic Ocean in the north, and the Southern Ocean in the south.
Measured from the northernmost point of Greenland to the southernmost point of South America, it is 15,600 km as the crow flies, making America the most elongated landmass in the world. source by

Caribbean – The Caribbean, sometimes also referred to as the West Indies, are the islands and archipelagos in the Caribbean Sea southeast of the United States and north of South America. The Caribbean region borders the Gulf of Mexico in the west, the Florida Straits in the north and the Northern Atlantic Ocean in the east. The largest islands in the Caribbean are Cuba, Hispaniola, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, and Trinidad.

  1. Anguilla
  2. Antigua and Barbuda
  3. Aruba
  4. Bahamas
  5. Barbados
  6. Bermuda
  7. British Virgin Islands
  8. Cayman Islands
  9. Cuba
  10. Dominica
  11. Dominican Republic
  12. Grenada
  13. Guadeloupe
  14. Haiti
  15. Jamaica
  16. Martinique
  17. Montserrat
  18. Netherlands Antilles
  19. Puerto Rico
  20. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  21. Saint Lucia
  22. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  23. Trinidad and Tobago
  24. US Virgin Islands

Central America – Central America refers to the land bridge between the continents of North and South America; it borders the Pacific Ocean in the southwest and the Caribbean Sea in the northeast.

  1. Belize
  2. Costa Rica
  3. El Salvador
  4. Guatemala
  5. Honduras
  6. Nicaragua
  7. Panama

South America – South America is the southern continent of the Americas and situated in the Western Hemisphere. The fourth-largest continent is mostly south of the equator. South America borders the Pacific Ocean in the west, the Caribbean Sea in the northwest, the Atlantic Ocean in the north and east and the Southern Ocean in the south. The continent is connected to North America by a narrow strip of land known as the Isthmus of Panama.

  1. Argentina
  2. Bolivia
  3. Brazil
  4. Chile
  5. Colombia
  6. Ecuador
  7. French Guiana
  8. Guyana
  9. Paraguay
  10. Peru
  11. Suriname
  12. Uruguay
  13. Venezuela

North America – North America or Northern America is the northern landmass of the Americas. The third largest continent on Earth covers an area of 24.7 million km² (9.5 million sq mi) and is situated in Earth’s western hemisphere. The United Nations geo-scheme defines “North America” as consisting of three regions: Northern America, Central America, and the Caribbean.

  1. Canada
  2. Mexico
  3. The United States (USA or America)

Languages of Americas:
Thousands of languages were spoken in the Americas before the arrival of the Europeans. The major languages spoken today in the Americas are based on Spanish, English, Portuguese, some French and French-based creole, and a few Amerindian languages.

%d bloggers like this: