Skip to content

What is the geographical division of Thailand?

Thailand has an area of ​​approximately 513,115.06 square kilometers. Large 3 In Southeast Asia, next to Indonesia and Myanmar Formerly, the region of Thailand has been divided into 4 regions which are north, central, northeast and south, but is currently divided into 6 regions which are

  1. Northern region
  2. Northeastern region
  3. Western region
  4. Central region
  5. Eastern region
  6. Southern region

Thailand characteristics
Thailand has a long temple from Mae Sai district. Chiang Rai Province to Betong District, Yala Province is approximately 1,620 kilometers in length, the widest part of the country. The temple is from Sam Chedi checkpoint, Sangkhara District, Kanchanaburi Province to Chong Mek Subdistrict. Phibun Mangsahan Ubon Ratchathani Is about 750 kilometers, the narrowest part of the temple, from Khlong Wan Subdistrict, Mueang District, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province Has a length of about 10.6 kilometers

Territory of Thailand

The north borders Myanmar and Laos. With mountains in Laos and the Mekong River as a natural border

East: bordering Laos and Cambodia There are mountains in Luang Prabang, Phanom Dong Rak and the mountain line. And the Mekong River is a natural border

West connects with Myanmar. With mountains in Thongchai Road Khao Tanaosri Salawin, Moei and Pak Chan rivers are natural borders.

South: bordering the Gulf of Thailand and Malaysia, the Golok River and the Sankala Kiri are natural borders.

Topographical features of Thailand

  1. Mountain areas and northern valleys
    Most of the terrain is mountains. The mountain range stretches north-south. Important mountains are Mountains of Laos Thongchai Road Mountains Phi Pan Nam Mountains Luang Prabang Mountains And there is a narrow valley plain between the mountains, where the river flows through, with rich sediment suitable for cultivation
  2. Central lowland area
    Most topographical features are river plains, divided into 2 parts: the upper plain from Nakhon Sawan province up Will be plains, rivers and corrugated plains With sparse mountains – The lower plain from Nakhon Sawan down to the Gulf of Thailand is a delta plateau. The soil is sedimentary water.
  3. Mountains in the northeast region
    Most topographical features are plateau. Shaped like a supine pan With its western and southern borders sloping to the east Important mountains are Phetchabun Mountains Dong Phaya Yen mountains San Kamphaeng Mountains Phu Phan Mountains The central area of ​​the region is a basin. Called the Korat basin
  4. Mountain areas and the eastern plains
    Most topographical features are corrugated plains interspersed with mountains and coastal plains. There is a short river
  5. Western region
    Most of the terrain is mountains and valleys that stretch north-south. There are narrow plains. Important mountains are Tanaosri Mountains Thongchai mountain range that extends continuously down.
  6. Southern Peninsula Region

The topography is a peninsula jutting into the sea. Flanked by both sides of the sea with mountains stretching north-south. There is a short river and the eastern coastal plain is wider than the western coastal plain.

Bordering provinces with neighboring countries

  1. Thai-Laos border Contact with the northern and northeastern regions, such as Chiang Rai, Nan, Uttaradit, Phitsanulok, Amnat Charoen, Loei, Nong Khai, Nakhon Phanom, Mukdahan and Ubon Ratchathani.
  2. Thai-Cambodian border Connect with the northeast region And the eastern region Such as Buri Ram, Surin, Sisaket, Ubon Ratchathani, Sa Kaeo, Chanthaburi, Trat
  3. Thai-Burma border Connect with the northern, western, and southern regions, including Chiang Mai, Mae Hong Son, Tak, Kanchanaburi, Ratchaburi, Phetchaburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Chumphon and Ranong.
  4. Thai-Malaysian border Connect with the South Including Satun, Songkhla, Yala, Narathiwat Climate of the country

Thailand has a slightly different climate. Classified as tropical rainy climates, which are divided into 3 types:

  1. Tropical rainy season or tropical climate (Savanna climate), including areas from Hua Hin district Prachuap Khiri Khan Province Is an area that has rain only in the rainy season And dry in the winter and summer Therefore, most of the natural vegetation is grasslands and sparse forests. Types of deciduous forest such as grasslands and red forests or deciduous dipterous forest In the northeast region and central plains Which is currently being converted into a rice field And is almost all used to housing
  2. Tropical rainy weather throughout the year or Tropical rainy forest
    East coast of the peninsula in the Chumphon province down to There will be heavy rains all year around 2,000 – 2,500 millimeters per year. The nature of the vegetation is lush evergreen forest all year. Therefore called the evergreen forest
  3. Almost tropical weather all year round or Tropical monsoon-climates, including the western part of the southern peninsula And southeast of the Gulf of Thailand Will get a lot of rain from the southwest monsoon that blows through And there is a period of less rain for 1 month or 2 months, therefore not classified as rain all year round The vegetation is an evergreen forest like the east coast.
%d bloggers like this: